Divergent

Title: Divergent

Author: Veronica Roth

Borrowed from: Ann Arbor District Library

Divergent

You should read this. I had been on the hold list for this book for months and it finally came just in time for Christmas break (but not in time to include on my 60 items to review media log, c’est la vie). Hearing many opposing reviews – one saying it’s the best dystopian novel of the year – others saying it was awful.

One thing I’ve learned about myself is that I enjoy reading dystopian fiction. Perhaps The Hunger Games started it in me. Perhaps it’s just where I am in my life to enjoy them again. But this is one dystopian trilogy you should also read.

Trish, as a divergent citizen, has to choose on her 16th birthday to stay in the faction she grew up in or to change to one of the other 4 factions which will effectively disown her from any communication with her family forever more. Trish makes a decision and the events that follow show us how even when a form of order is created in good, it can quickly turn bad. Factions are dependent on virtues – but what happens when the citizens lose touch with the whole of the virtues? What happens when virtues are taken at face value and not as 1 part of a whole? A lot. Trish and her friends must decide between staying or leaving and hoping to change the world for the better.

This is book 1 in the trilogy and I am on hold for the second book. 31st in line…but I’ll get it eventually and probably really enjoy it. Can’t wait for the 3rd book to be published!

Seriously. Such a good novel. Anyone else read this? Want to discuss?

—Spoilers—

  1. I wanted to read about Caleb and his experiences. I wanted to know more about his decision to become factionless. It would have made the book longer, but sometimes I enjoy seeing other perspectives than just our main character.
  2. I was not surprised that Caleb and Trish’s mother was also divergent. I’m not sure how I would handle that type of situation but how hard it must be to not be able to discuss your faction choice. I love talking about choices and which decision I should make. I hate having to make decisions on my own. So difficult. Would you have been able to not talk to your children about your experiences leaving one faction for the other? Or even just to let them know it’s okay to leave?
  3. What else do you want to discuss? Al?! Peter?! Four?! I must say I was surprised at Four’s identity – although looking back on it, it was clearly obvious. That’s okay. I enjoy that their romance is between the two of them and that they are acting like most teenagers at the start. I felt very sad for Al. Of course, he made some decisions that are reprehensible. How horrible though, to realize your original faction was probably the better choice for you?

PS: If you’re read Insurgent already, please try to keep spoilers for that at a minimum. Divergent spoilers are definitely okay to discuss here. 🙂

One response to “Divergent

  1. Pingback: Insurgent | ireadborrowedbooks

Thoughts?

