Changes

This weeks readings spoke to me – especially the one about providing time in the teachers’ school day for professional development and how to approach new technology in the school/library setting.  The article about providing goals for teachers through professional development opportunity and basing it on actual real goals for their classrooms/expertise/weaknesses etc. spoke as extremely relevant.  When I was teaching, I also was able to “pick” my own goals for improving my teaching for the school year – I could have input from our principal if I wanted it, and she had to sign off on my goals, but they could be of my own making.  I also had to keep track of what I was doing to make sure I met those goals, but other than that any professional development reading / practice I did on my own during planning times/lunch or at home.

Although this is in reality okay, I know it would have made a big difference had there been time set into my schedule specifically for professional development.  It was so easy to get caught up in other things during planning times, that sometimes it took a back burner and the stove wasn’t even on.  Which ultimately doesn’t help reach the goal effectively or as well as otherwise.

I also like how this class was taught in much the same way that the second article ( Blowers and Reed) in that you allow people time to play with the technology tools  in a safe way that won’t affect their lives as much as if they were doing it “for real”.  Such as, keeping the blogs/twitter accounts anonymous and building in harder and harder tasks as students become comfortable.  I really do appreciate all of the work we have done in simply USING tools that we may find professionally useful before being called upon to do so.

P.S. Sorry this post is late – I didn’t plan my week well and my birthday dinner went later than expected.  🙂

4 responses to “Changes

  1. Ha – considering that I am reading this while my tax software downloads, I’d say we’re neck-and-neck for time management this week. 🙂

  2. I also am really glad that we practiced using tools like Twitter and blogging before potentially needing them in the professional world. I think it’s definitely eased a few fears from the technical standpoint.

  3. I think that actively maintaining a blog is a great accomplishment that this class has really put us through! I’m really glad that we’ve had this experience, overall.

  4. Oh, I forgot to add to my last comment – it’s been interesting to read your views as someone who has prior teaching experience. =)

Thoughts?

