reflections on Sadler reading…

This article was hard for me to read – I’m not sure if I am just not in the mindset to read and think about the reading but for some reason I had a difficult time just getting through this reading.  I did appreciate that the author did not only focus on  students’ reactions to receiving assessment but also on how teachers approach formative assessment as well as how teachers attempt to assess in their classrooms.

The idea that assessment leads to self-monitoring was a new one for me.  It may have been something I just knew or assumed, but I know I never thought about teaching or assessing with self-monitoring as a goal.  It seems like an important distinction between just learning because you’re in school or learning because it will help you be successful in multiple ways throughout your entire future.  I’m not sure if any of my teachers ever taught with this idea in mind or if it’s because of the experiences and background I have to be able to successfully “learn” on my own or teach myself new things (within reason).

I’m hoping to go back through and read this article a second time because I really do feel like I missed a lot and was not able to react as well to the article…hopefully more later…

4 responses to “

  1. I also had a difficult time with the reading – both actually. A lot of the concepts seemed like ones that I already knew. I’m also not a teacher so I could be missing something.

    Self-monitoring that comes from assessment is interesting. I’ll have to re-read that section. Thanks for making me more aware of it. =)

  2. Count me in on the struggling with the reading – maybe we’re all still burnt-out from the screencast? I was also kind of surprised that self-monitoring can come from assessment. I agree with you that the attitude a student takes towards learning (learning just to get through school vs. learning to use knowledge for some greater purpose) can be really important in education.

  3. Samantha Roslund

    I struggled with the article, too. All the reading I’ve been doing this semester has gotten me thinking about accessibility. Sure – you can sound super-academic and blow your readers minds with your incredible vocabulary and hyper-complex sentence structure, but what are you communicating? Does it not defeat the purpose? (Unless the purpose is to appear super smart and above my purvue, then congratulations.)

  4. Self-monitoring is big in the American Association of School LIbrarians’ Standards for the 21st-Century Learner. Part of the idea is that we don’t just want students to be reacting to whatever adults tell them is good or bad. We want them to develop that capacity inherently.

Thoughts?

